Home Forums Xi Theme Discussion & Support Logo and header – using a banner image

This topic is: resolved

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  David Green 4 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

David Green
    Participant

First of all, thanks so much for Xi and for all you continue to do.
    Second, please assume that you are speaking to an idiot when replying. I kind of know my way around WP and HTML but I’m no expert and I tend to make things work by a process of trial and error.

Xi is perfect for the church website that I’ve been trying (and failing) to build for the last twelve months. However, the logo thing doesn’t really work for us because the site is for three churches in a team and we don’t really have different logos.

I’d like to put a banner image in there instead with the menu items underneath and I’ve seen other church websites using Xi achieve it.

I just can’t work out how.

The site at the moment has the banner in the logo spot but it’s reduced its size and doesn’t have it centred and full size and the menu tabs aren’t underneath it.

I know it probably means doing something clever with a child theme, but I’ve never done one of those before either so any and all help would be much appreciated.

The site is http://www.stmaryswestmalling.org.uk
    You can see it with “themeloom” as both username and password.

David Green
    Participant

I should add that I’m concerned not to mess about in your code as I’ve done that before with other sites and then found myself branching off from the main as the theme continued to develop and I wasn’t able to keep up.

themeweaver
    Keymaster

OK, first re your last comment. Simple CSS edits can be achieved in the Theme Options page where you can add custom CSS.

More significant edits are best done using a child theme. See http://themeloom.com/support/framework-codex/developers/creating-a-child-theme/

HEADER IMAGES